Nigeria LNG, the sponsor of Nigeria Prize for Literature, is calling for entries for the 2023 edition of the famed literary contest. The prize which rotates among four genres namely prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature is focused on drama this year. The competition is open to Nigerian writers regardless of their current place of residence.

To compete, every writer is expected to enter one published work which had not been submitted previously in the same competition. All entries must be works published between 2020 and 2023. The staff of Nigeria LNG and their families are not eligible to contest. With the prize money set at $100,000, the submission for the prize ends on March 31st.

For this year’s competition, the panel of judges chaired by Prof. Ameh Dennis Akoh include Dr. Rasheedat Liman, Prof. Osita Catherine Ezenwanebe as well as an international consultant, Prof. Victor K. Yankah. The winner, if any, would be announced and presented in October 2023 after a long list and short list have been announced.

Nigeria Prize for Literature

The prize is administered by an advisory board set up by Nigeria LNG Limited. The current Advisory Board for Literature is headed by Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, an Emeritus Professor of English at the University of Lagos and a 2007 Nigeria Prize for Literature joint winner in the Children’s literature category.

The last winner in the drama category emerged in 2018 with Soji Cole clinching the prize with his play titled ‘Embers.’ In 2022, the prize was won by Romeo Oriogun in the poetry category with his work titled ‘Nomad.’


You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Literary